Port Elizabeth: 3/28/16 (Week 12)

Another month done, wow…but Happy Easter and Happy birthday to my sister Haley, LOVE YOU! So proud of her and who she is, can’t wait to see her along with my family!!

I was able to give a talk on the Atonement in Sacrament Meeting this week and got many comments from people and others not in the ward that attended.  It was a very spiritual experience for me and the spirit was very strong yesterday.  I am so grateful to have an older brother, a friend, who has felt all my pain. As a missionary I have never been through so much heartache and sorrow in my life, really, on an everyday basis.  And without the Savior I don’t know if I could have survived these past 20 months. I know that even though I am 10,000 miles away, a wanderer in a strange land as Ammon says, I am never alone. Especially this week, honestly this one was a very tough one…. One of the times where I just really miss home.  A scripture that helped this week was Alma 32 17-18: ” Yea, there are many who do say: If thou wilt show unto us a sign from heaven, then we shall know of a surety; then we shall believe. Now I ask, is this faith? Behold, I say unto you, Nay; for if a man knoweth a thing he hath no cause to believe, for he knoweth it.”

My mind reflected on moments in my life where my faith has been very tested, and I think “All I need is a sign that he is there”. But I think about the principle of faith that Alma teaches the Zoramites here, applies so readily to us as well. I have had so many witnesses that Jesus is the Christ and that God is real, even if I were to see them my testimony would stay the same, because I have a knowledge that they are there, and my faith is sufficient in that regard. So grateful that families are forever, it is one of my most cherished things I hold on to. So Grateful for the Savior.

DSCN8692

This week we took the four hour road trip to George and had a great time, so beautiful and was able to work with our Elders there. Powerful Elders and learned a lot from them. South Africa is an amazing place.  So grateful I was able to serve in this country! But this week was pretty tough, lots of things dropped because of Easter, but the work of the Lord will continue. Found out I am staying with my companion for another transfer.  Only have one more companion left on my mission!

Love you all!
Elder Taylor

DSCN8648

Leave a Reply

