Mdantsane: 5/11/15 (Week 2)

Subject: Happy Mother’s Day!

First off, skyping with my family was the best gift ever. I may be a liiiiittttllle biased but I have the best family in the world. It was so nice seeing and actually talking to them. Our family is so close and even though I am 10,000 miles away I have never felt closer to them. It makes me so happy to see the Lord bless my family so much for my service here as a missionary. It makes me want to work even harder and be more obedient and diligent. Love you family!

md 2015 skype collage

This week…..ahhhh it was interesting. I tracted two doors on my mission before this area. In one day we did like 30, and most of them rejected us or said they were too busy. Oh it is a challenge. But I am loving it. It is building an area from the ground up and it is so fun to be involved in. My companion, Elder Ratema, is great. We make walking around and tracting fun and a good time. Have to make the most out of what you got!  We have 5 people on date for baptism and had 3 of them at church on Sunday! Our mission President came after church and the bishop put his arm around him and told him “Thank you for sending obedient missionaries.” Obedience is the most important thing on a mission and in life. I can always improve and be better, we all can, but I am so grateful for the person I am becoming.

DSCN0209[1]

We had a zone conference this week with Elder Evans, a 70 and the president of the missionary department of the church. It was a great training and it is so cool being able to meet all of these leaders of the church as a missionary. President Merrill also spoke and it was so powerful. That man has truly changed my life. So blessed to be serving under such a great representative of the savior Jesus Christ.

That brings me to my last point. On my mission, I have never felt closer to my Savior Jesus Christ. We were singing a hymn yesterday and it left me in tears for the love I have for our Redeemer. It is hymn number 193 and the third verse goes:

“I think of his hands pierced and bleeding to pay the debt!

Such mercy, such love and devotion can I forget?

No, no, I will praise and adore at the mercy seat,

Until at the glorified throne I kneel at his feet.

Oh, it is wonderful that he should care for me

Enough to die for me!

Oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me!”

How beautiful is this hymn. The savior has always loved us, and he always will. He went through so much pain and suffering for all of us. If we have anything in our life that we need to change, we can! And that is the beautiful thing about the Atonement. Christ paid the price for all of our sins. He will not lift the burden of sin from us if we don’t want it removed. All we have to do is humble ourselves and ask for forgiveness. Big or small, no matter what it is, we CAN be forgiven. Without the Atonement I would not be where I am today and I am ever so grateful for my Savior and Redeemer. Of him whom I serve, whom I love, and who I testify of, even Jesus Christ, Amen.

Love,

Elder Taylor

DSCN0154[1]

Leave a Reply

