Cape Town: 4/6/15 (Week 21)

Subject: 1/3 of the way done?

All I have to say is time goes quick. I am already 1/3 of the way done with my mission….what?!  But this week was yet another great one. I will start with a shout out to my little sister for making the Utah State dance team. So proud of her!!

But how great was general conference this week? So jealous that my family was able to go, but it was so powerful. I found myself numerous times during conference feeling the spirit so strong it led me to tears. Every time I watch conference I gain a stronger and stronger testimony of how we have a living prophet and apostles today just like we did when Christ was on the Earth. So cool to be a member of the exact church Christ established when he was on the earth and so proud and humbled to be His servant spreading His gospel!

DSCN0061[1]

We have a lot of exciting things in this area happening right now and one is with a guy named Keith. One of the most awesome men I have ever met. He has truly started to change his life for the better and it is amazing to be involved in his life at this time. He wrote a 90 page memoir about his life for us to read so we can get some background on him and his past and how we can help. He is a super smart man, chemist, and has an awesome resume (we’ve seen it, also included in the memoir). He has been coming to church and he is committed to be baptized at the end of this month. One cool story with him. He called me and said, “Elder Taylor, I don’t think I will be able to join the church because I don’t think I can pay tithing.” I told him we would come and see him and talk about it. So we did, and what a spiritual lesson. We talked about the importance of it and the blessings that come from tithing. After an hour of talking about it, he said he would pray and in his prayer he promised Heavenly Father he would pay until the day he died, SO COOL!

DSCN0062[1]

But with Easter yesterday and as we celebrated the life and resurrection of Christ I want to bear my personal testimony of Him. I know that Jesus is the Christ. I know he lived on this Earth and lived a perfect sinless life. I know he atoned for all of our sins. He also took upon him all of our pains, weaknesses, temptations, and sorrows we experience in this life. I know he rose the third day and because he was resurrected, you and I will be too. I know that it is only by, through, and because of our Savior that we can repent. We can turn from our old ways and habits and create new and better ones and because of Him we can change and become worthy to live in the presence of God again. I am so grateful for my Savior Jesus Christ and for His example to me. I hope we all always remember His sacrifice everyday of our lives, not just on Easter. I love you all!

Elder Taylor

DSCN0041[1]

DSCN0058[1]

DSCN0065[1]

FSCN0057[1]

Leave a Reply

