Cape Town: 3/23/15 (Week 19)

What is up everyone! Not the most eventful week, but it was great none the less! Every P-day I have been playing baseball with my friend here who played at Dixie State. So it has been real nice to throw again. Miss baseball but I enjoy it that much more being away from it!

stopme

This week Phuma, our recent convert, who has come with us every day for 5 months, and I were talking and had a very deep conversation. We were talking about how I would have to say goodbye soon and we were both almost in tears. We were going through the hundreds of funny moments we have had together. He said I changed his life and he definitely changed mine. That is the worst thing about a mission. You get so close to people. Phuma was literally an older brother to me. And then you have to say goodbye. We were talking and he said a few days ago he thought about saying goodbye to me and I said “dude…you are going to cry.” And he is like “Bro, I already accepted that.” I said “Yeah, don’t worry I will too.” It was so sad saying bye to my family but it was “I will see you in two years.” For someone like a Phuma and Arnold and other people I have gotten so close to in these 6 months it is a “I don’t know if I will ever see you again.” But it is definitely part of a mission and part of life.

We have another baptism this coming Sunday. The work here has just been amazing. 3 baptisms this past month and 6 within the last 4. It has been a pleasure to serve in this area. Will serve the last couple weeks here to the best of my ability. But the guy getting baptized this Sunday is named David. He has been taught for so long and has had the hardest time overcoming his smoking addiction. But through his hard work and faith in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, he has been able to quit and now is making that first important covenant with our Father in Heaven. Super excited for him and looking forward to Sunday.

Once again, I just want you to know that I am so grateful for the chance I have to serve our Redeemer, Jesus Christ. It has been the most humbling, frustrating, annoying, best, happiest, worst, greatest thing you could ever imagine. But I cherish every single second of it. I would not trade a day on a mission for anything at home. I love this work and I am so grateful for the opportunity I have to serve and help Father in Heaven’s children come back to him. Love you all!

Elder Taylor

stopme_comp

Leave a Reply

