Cape Town: 2/16/15 (Week 14)

(Note: pictures will be added in a few days…)

Hi guys! Another great week in the service of the Lord. Although I was sick all week! But, all good, just part of life! We had a very successful week and taught 25 lessons so we are continuing to build this part of the Lord’s vineyard.

Training is a very interesting experience for me. It is teaching me that I need to step up and take charge in things. The Bishop called this week and asked if we could go and give this lady a blessing because she was super sick. So we went and I was asked to give the blessing so I did. Before I would look to my companion to give the blessing but now I take the lead in everything. We walked in and she was so sick, Sister Kiepela, and she could barely talk. So I laid my hands on her head and gave her a blessing. And God, through me, told her she would be healed, and on Sunday she made it to church 100 percent better and was laughing and joyful and it was a great experience for me and a great testimony builder. The Priesthood is real, I know it. And it is a joy to use the power and authority to act in the name of God so much here on my mission. It makes me think of a scripture in the Book of Mormon. After the Brother of Jared saw the Lord, he “had faith no longer, for he knew, nothing doubting.” And that is how I feel about the Priesthood and about the church. I KNOW, that it is true, not one doubt in my mind.

We had a few investigators at church Sunday and it was very good! It was the mission farewell for our fellowshipper so there were a lot of people there and the spirit was strong. We have 12 on date to be baptized right now so the work is going so well and it is such a joy.

Something that took me awhile to realize is that I am so grateful for the trials I have experienced on my mission and in life. I read the story of Job in the Bible, how he lost everything and he still “fell on his knees and praised the Lord.” And that story touched me. I know we have trials for a reason. It is an opportunity for us to grow and prove ourselves to God. That is why we are in this life, it is to be tested and to see how we will go through them.  After every rainstorm comes the rainbow. There is always something good or a blessing in store after the trials we go through. Something I told my “son” on my mission is to be grateful for trials. Even if we have a bad day there’s always another day. It can never get too bad and if it does just think about the blessing that we have to serve our Savior and how grateful we need to be for the opportunity. My motto for my mission is found in 2 Timothy chapter 4:7-8, “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.” I love this. It is saying that we need to endure through things. Fall down 7 get up 8.

I love you all and I want you to know that I know that Jesus is the Christ. God lives. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the only true church on the earth today. I know Joseph Smith was a prophet of God and that through him God was able to restore the same church Christ established back on the Earth. I know that God through Joseph Smith was able to restore the Priesthood. I know the Book of Mormon is true and that through the power and gift of God Joseph Smith was able to translate it. I invite all who are not of this church to come and see for yourselves. All you need to do is take all that you know is good and test the message that we have for yourselves, and I know and I can testify by the spirit of God that you will know our message is true.

Elder Taylor

Leave a Reply

