Cape Town: 12/29/14 (Week 7)

Happy New Years!

Hope everyone had a great Christmas and will have great New Year! My Christmas was just great. We got fed so much food I am still recovering! Skyping my family was definitely the highlight of Christmas for me, it was so cool to talk to them for a few hours and see their faces again! LOVE THEM!

Video call snapshot 5

Video call snapshot 6

This week Brother Mike took us to Signal Hill. It is the top of Cape Town and it overlooks the whole city and it was just amazing. He bought us ice cream and then took us around the town. Hope everyone enjoys the pictures! It was one of the coolest experiences I have ever had. I felt so much joy when I was on top of the mountain. It is hard to explain but I just never experienced that much joy. I guess me being a missionary in this beautiful country finally hit me!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We had zone conference this week with 40 missionaries and our mission president. It was super powerful. We talked about faith and how we need to have faith before we experience miracles. He talked about the importance of testing God’s promises. President Merrill said that we need to show our faith in God by being exactly obedient and then test the promise that God will show us miracles as we do so. And I have done this on my mission and God has truly blessed me and shown me so many miracles!

We had a baptism this week and it was a super powerful experience. His name is Arnold and out of the 6 baptisms I have had on my mission, this was definitely the hardest I have worked for someone to be baptized. It was such a cool experience to see him enter into the waters of baptism. He got very emotional after he was baptized and the spirit was so strong! It is always a testimony to me of the reality of missionary work. I know God is proud of me and loves me and is so happy about the work I do as a missionary.

SAM_0619_edit

SAM_0627_edit

I had a very amazing experience at church. We were expecting 8 investigators to come to church and when sacrament meeting started we only had 4. I was really hoping that more would come because we wanted them to see the baptism. I prayed at that moment in sacrament meeting and I said, “Father, I know you can’t physically make anyone come, but if it is possible please just have more of the people we teach show up.” And shortly after that prayer another investigator walked in, and then after that 3 more, and then after that another walked in. So we had a total of 9 and it was just truly a miracle to me and it was a testimony to me that as we are obedient, God will bless us and show us miracles.

I love you all and wish you all a happy new year 🙂

Elder Taylor

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

