Mthatha: 10/20/14 (Week 9)

Another great week here in wonderful Mthatha! So many good things happened this week! We were able to drive down to Queenstown for Zone Training from the Mission President and his wife, which was super good. Super fun being around other missionaries again.

DSCF1617[1]

DSCF1615[1]

We also had our personal interviews with the president and he told me and my companion some things about me that I thought I should share. He said, “There is something special about Elder Taylor. He is a completely different person and missionary from the first time I met him. He is one of the most humble people I have ever met. He is going to be one of the youngest leaders that this mission has ever had.” I thought that was super cool for him to say that and it is such a testimony to me that the Lord blesses people when they work as hard as they can!

DSCF1614[1]

Although this week was very good, I also had one of the worst days on mission to this point. The district leader and I were going on exchanges and we had 8 appointments for the day and we were super excited. We were going to meet with a lot of progressing investigators and were so busy the whole day. I am not exaggerating when I say that ALL 8 of the appointments cancelled! When we went to teach they all said they were either sick, or they weren’t there, or they were busy. It was super disappointing. But I learned to keep working hard, days like this will happen. Heavenly Father likes us to show our faith in Him and that we are truly dedicated in serving Him before the miracles happen! Plus, you need to experience a bad day every once in a while to appreciate all the good ones that Heavenly Father blesses us with!

DSCF1605[1]

This week we got to watch General Conference (finally). How amazing is it that we have a modern day prophet and apostles who lead and guide this church under the direction of God?! I have never felt the spirit that strong watching conference before!

DSCF1619[1]

There was some personal revelation that I got during conference that I thought that I should share with everyone!

1) Jesus Christ is the source of all hope

2) Never forget which way you face

3) God cares about each and everyone of us and will listen and answer all of our prayers in His own way and His own time

4) Live in the world but not of it

5) Ask God, spiritual questions deserve spiritual answers

6) Marriage is the most important decision you will make in this life

7) Pray always that you may conquer satan

8) Be more worried about how Christ feels about you than other people do

9) Care for the poor and needy, we are all beggars. We all beg for forgiveness from mistakes we have made in this life to our Heavenly Father

10) God continues to speak to us through living prophets

I challenge all of us from this moment on to be the best that we can be. We will mess up, we are not perfect, but it is through the Atonement and through Jesus Christ we can repent and be made clean and to be worthy to live with our Heavenly Father and His son again.

DSCF1611[1]

The funniest thing on my mission happened a few weeks ago that I forgot to share. Our branch president is a very old guy and doesn’t speak very good English. Very interesting man but very kind. He bore his testimony on fast and testimony Sunday and then he sat down and no one got up for about 15 seconds and he yells from his chair “So… no one is feeling the spirit?!” I about lost it at that point. I look to my companion and I was like he did not just say that hahahhahahaha! I quickly got up and bore my testimony right after that!

We also got to do a service project this week! I love doing service for people. My job was to paint the window seals ha! And they didn’t use any tape or anything to cover the windows so it was a little intimidating! But it went well. Like Mosiah says in the Book of Mormon, “When you are in the service of your fellow beings you are only in the service of your God.”

DSCF1599[1]

I am so happy I am on mission right now. I want to thank my mom and dad for getting me to this point and teaching and raising me the way they did. I have no idea where I would be if I decided to not serve. Thank you for all of your prayers. I truly feel them each day and just know that they help me when things get tough! I love all of you and pray for you guys each day as well! Have a great week!

Love,
Elder Taylor

DSCF1014[1]

DSCF1586[1]

DSCF1624[1]

DSCF1604[1]

DSCF1607[1]

Leave a Reply

