Mthatha: 10/13/14 (Week 8)

Hello everyone!

Another great week here in beautiful Mthatha! This past week I decided to start exercising each day… it’s tough hahahaha.. but the District Leader and I go on a run 4 days a week and we go to a member’s “gym” two times a week. The gym is metal bars with concrete for the weights… but it works!

Elder Pulu’s toe is getting better, thank you for all the prayers! He should be back to 100% by the end of the week! So I went on exchanges a lot this week so I could  keep visiting our investigators with the District Leader. We taught so many great lessons so it was a very successful week, especially under the circumstances.

DSCF1548[1]

This week in one of the lessons I got the question, “Elder Taylor… what one thing separates your religion from all the other ones?” And I thought of so many things… the Priesthood, the Holy Ghost, etc. But, I settled on the Book of Mormon. I told him that we were the only church that follows both the Book of Mormon and the Bible and that it is pretty convincing evidence that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God and that the true church, the same church that Jesus Christ established, has been brought back on the earth through Joseph Smith. It got me thinking how blessed as members we are to have the Book of Mormon. It is the most correct book on the face of the earth!

DSCF1550[1]

One of the coolest things I have seen on my mission so far is the change in our investigators. It is so cool seeing them change their lives and start to center it around Jesus Christ. It is such a good feeling seeing your investigator just start to get it… you can see it in their eyes that they are changing and that they understand. It is such a humbling experience to be a missionary.

DSCF1551[1]

One of the coolest experience I have had on mission happened this week. We visited a lady who has been extremely sick. We were able to give her a Priesthood blessing and then I felt impressed to share and talk about weaknesses. I brought up the scripture in Ether chapter 12 verse 27, “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.” I then bore testimony on Jesus Christ. And that he knows all the pains that she was feeling, that she has felt in her life, and that she ever will feel. I told her that we all have weaknesses and that in this point of her life she needs to rely and have faith in Christ. She then started crying and gave the most powerful testimony of Jesus Christ I have ever heard and it even brought me to tears. One of the most powerful experiences I have experienced thus far.

DSCF1545[1]

One time this week an investigator at the end of the lesson said , “Can you guys have acid?” I was like “What’s up?”  And she’s like, “You know… acid”.  I was about to be like boom…. time to talk about the Word of Wisdom hahahahhaha but then she said, “You know.. like cool drink..soda”. I was like “ohhhh yeah” hahahaha and then she gave us some coke!  Man I love Africa!

DSCF1539[1]

DSCF1544[1]

This week my companion and I were laying on our beds one night when he says…”Elder Taylor…missionaries like you don’t come around that often.” It made me feel good and I just kind of layed there and thought about how amazing my Heavenly Father is. I have worked so hard and have had so much faith in him that I will become a good missionary and day by day I feel myself becoming more and more like the missionary God intends me to be. God is great.

Love you all!

Elder Taylor

DSCF1543[1]

DSCF1542[1]

DSCF1537[1]

DSCF1549[1]

DSCF1541[1]

DSCF1547[1]

Leave a Reply

