Mthatha: 10/6/14 (Week 7)

Whats gucci?!

Well first off shout out to my sister turning the big 2-2 this week! Love and miss you so much KT! And also I want to thank everyone for all the love and support you constantly show me. I got 64 emails this week and it means a lot to me! All the other missionaries are jealous about the amount of emails I get, so….. keep it up!

DSCF1509[1]e

Well…. I heard about the A’s… Honestly, could have cried. I got about 10 emails about the game so I was super happy I didn’t have to see that happen. To be honest, them making the playoffs was pretty tough on me since they have been a huge part of my life for 19 years and this was the only year I wouldn’t be around to watch them. But, my family and I have been so blessed for my service to my Heavenly Father and there is no other place I would rather be at this point in my life than here on a mission in South Africa.

district meeting

This week my companion had to get surgery on his toe! So on Tuesday we spent the day getting blood tests done for him and on Thursday we drove down to East London for him to get the surgery done. Then, the senior couple there took us to this fancy seafood place and we drove back. Elder Pulu has to be on bed rest for 2-3 weeks!  So I will be going on exchanges a lot with other missionaries so we can still visit our investigators. And when I stay at home with him, I read…….allllll day…. it’s fun. And then I ordered pizza for us because I’m such a great companion hahaha. But, everyone keep him in your prayers for a speedy recovery!

DSCF1519[1]

Elder Pulu’s toe surgery!

 DSCF1517[1]

One of the coolest things about being a missionary is always feeling the spirit. There have been so many times these past couple weeks where I felt impressed to share something, and after I am done, have the person say, “that was exactly what I needed to hear”. There was one time this week where we were meeting with a guy named Tambela. Missionaries have taught him a lot about the Book of Mormon and he has had a super hard time getting the concept that the Bible and Book of Mormon go hand in hand with each other. I felt I needed to share the scripture in the Bible found in Ezekiel 37 verses 15 to 17 where it talks about the books going hand in hand. After I said that I bore testimony that I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and another testament of Jesus Christ. When I was done he said, “You’re a wise guy” and then said “Okay, no more questions about that, I understand. I will continue to read and pray about it.” Another experience this week is I felt prompted to bring my oil for Priesthood blessings to this members’ house. When we got there she said she just got back from the hospital and asked us to give her a blessing so we were able to… super cool what happens when we listen to the spirit!

DSCF1523[1]

A mission is tough. It is hard getting up at 6:30 everyday, getting rejected, missing home and family. But I have never felt more joy in my entire life. Every morning the first thing I do when I get up is I kneel down and thank my Heavenly Father for the opportunity I have to be his servant. I find so much peace and happiness knowing that the message I share brings joy, and hope to people. It is just the most amazing thing and I am so humbled and blessed to be on a mission right now.

I miss and love you all, and pray for you daily!

Elder Taylor

DSCF1530[1]

DSCF1513[1]

DSCF1505[1]

Homemade “pizza”!

DSCF1526[1]

Leave a Reply

