Mthatha: 9/22/14 (Week 5)

Hello everyone!

What a week…. hahahhaha. But it was a good one! We went over to the four cousins who were going to get baptized this Sunday just to confirm everything and one of the Dad’s comes out and starts freaking out…. we were like whhhaaaattt…. He had been okay with the baptism of his kids and then suddenly he just went off. I thank God for my gift of patience though. He just continued to go off on us for about ten minutes and we just stood there while he was yelling, and once he was done I looked at him and said, “we would be happy to meet with you and teach you why your children want to be baptized into the true church of Jesus Christ.” He then said, “Tuesday 4:30” We then asked him his name and he goes, “Why does it matter?” I was like allllllrightttty we will see you on Tuesday sir! HA! So everyone keep him in his prayers that he will have a change of heart and let his kids be baptized!

DSCF1411[1]

One thing I have really come to a knowledge of on my mission is how much people respect missionaries. When someone loses faith, someone’s family member dies, and everything in between, people want to talk to us. At times it can be very overwhelming because I still feel like a kid, I am only 19 years old and people are asking me stuff that I don’t always know the answer to. But, I always pray for the Holy Ghost to guide me on what to say and when I listen to it, it always tells me what to say and I am able to help out the people that we talk to.

DSCF1415[1]

I gave my first ever Priesthood blessing this week! My companion was feeling very sick when I walked into the room and he asked me if I would give him a blessing. So I did and almost immediately after I gave him a blessing, the pains went away. It was a huge testimony to me on the power of the Preisthood and how real it is! It is a huge blessing to be able to use it so much here on my mission!

This week I had to teach Gospel Principles class. I thought that was bad enough until I found out there would be four investigators at my lesson and one of the mission president’s counselors would be there too! But only half of the people fell asleep during the lesson so I think it went well… hahahhahaha just kidding! I think it went very well, I even started to tear up as I bore my testimony to everyone in the class and I could tell everyone there felt the spirit. There are several times where I am in a lesson, or laying in bed where I think “Wow…. I am on a mission right now!” And teaching the Gospel Principles class really made me feel that way too!

DSCF1468[1]

Well the diet is going very well.. Ive dropped 9 pounds hahahaha! I haven’t weighed this little since freshman year in high school! I have started to cook a lot… Pasta, Egg Salad, my companion and I made muffins once this week.. just call me Chef Andrew! Hahahaha it is super fun actually learning to cook a little here on the mission.

DSCF1443[1]

The Xhosa is still going very well… I hope to be fluent by the time I get back! Haha! I am picking it up very well!

Everyday I wake up feeling truly blessed to be the Lord’s servant here in Africa. I have seen so many lives already change, but the biggest change I have seen is in my own life. I KNOW that this is the true church. I know that through Jesus Christ, Joseph Smith was able to reestablish the true church on the Earth today. I know by the power of God he was able to translate the Book of Mormon. No meer man could write or translate a book like that unless it was by the power of God. I know that it is the word of God and is another testament of Jesus Christ. I know that Jesus is the Christ, and that by him, through him, and of him we can repent and become clean and if we endure to the end, we will be able to live in his presence for time and all eternity. I love this gospel so much and feel truly humbled to be able to share it with everyone I come in contact with.

Everyone, check out the pictures I attached to the email this week!

Love you all!

Elder Taylor

DSCF1465[1]

DSCF1456[1]

DSCF1474[1]

Leave a Reply

