Mthatha: 9/1/14 (Week 2)

Hello Everyone!

I hope everyone is doing well! I am doing absolutely great! This week has been awesome. Another one of our investigators is going to get baptized so we have 6 of our investigators getting baptized on September 14th so I am super excited! We have been meeting with them a lot to get them ready for that date and going over any questions they have and what not! But I truly feel blessed to be the Lord’s servant here in Africa. Everyday I wake up and feel truly blessed that through Jesus Christ and the Holy Ghost I am able to help bring a message to people that changes their lives. I have already seen people change through the gospel and I think it is so amazing to be involved in the Lord’s work.

DSCF1326[1]

One really cool story I thought I would share with everyone that happened this week was about the Holy Ghost and how powerful it can be when we listen to it. When I don’t have the spirit, I can’t teach. But when I do, I am able to discern the people’s needs and what they need to hear and how to say it. We were meeting with one of our investigators and I asked him if he has come to the knowledge that the Book of Mormon is the true word of God. He told me that he has prayed about it but has a lot of things on his mind so he hasn’t gotten an answer. The Holy Ghost told me I needed to bring up the scripture found in Moroni 10 verses 4 and 5. It says that if we ask with a sincere heart with real intent to know if the book is true, the Holy Ghost will manifest the truthfulness to you. He told me he really needed to hear that and that he likes that part about our church most and how it separates us from different religions. We then committed him to praying with a sincere heart to know if it is true or not and he told us he would. The Holy Ghost is so powerful when we listen to it!

DSCF1323[1]

But other than those two things my week was good! On P-day we played basketball and soccer with a lot of the members and then on Thursday we went to Zone Conference with 50 other missionaries in East London. We got to hear from Elder Cook who is in the First Quorum of the 70 and the Area President in South Africa. We got to shake his hand and talk face to face, I made him laugh…. I’m kiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiind of a big deal, HA!

We have still yet to go tracting! We teach soooooo many lessons! We teach about 7 a day. So about 40 each week! And we get so many referalls. God truly has prepared these people to hear the gospel. I know I am here for a reason, my trainer tells me that he has a hard time connecting with some of the investigators, but when I came, I was able to connect with them. This week I truly came to the knowledge that God has sent me here for a reason, and I am excited to continue serving Him!

DSCF1315[1]

On a side note, I thought it was pretty funny that I prayed to serve my mission in the United States and I get sent to the farthest possible place from California, and then I prayed to serve in Cape Town and I am now in the furthest area possible in the mission and the farthest away from Cape Town, hahahahahahah. But God knows best and I trust in him that he is putting me in a place to do His work and spread the gospel.

missionmap

The food is still very freaky, I live on Bologna sandwiches!! hahahahahhahahahahah ew!!! But oh well, all part of the experience! I can now have a normal conversation in Khosa, it is super cool!!

DSCF1251[1]

Bologna sandwiches!

If anyone wants to send me any letters (I love getting mail) here is my address!

South Africa Cape Town Mission
PO Box 181
Observatory
7935 Cape Town, Republic of South Africa

I love you all and have a great week!

Love,
Elder Taylor

Haircut from my companion!

Haircut from my companion!

DSCF1310[1]

Not Pleasanton!

Leave a Reply

